Tina Loney (1943-2006)


Tina Loney (1943-2006)

Portrait originally uploaded to Flickr by dgans: David posted this terrific picture of onezie, along with some very sad news. She died today after a long illness that she didn't want to discuss online.

So hard to believe she's really gone.

Here's part of what I posted in the Tina topic in the (members-only) WELL news conference:

One of the reasons I've personally
been committed to working at The WELL for many years through a variety of times is in honor of the spirit and intention i read in these words
[A great essay that Tina wrote about cultivating online community].

So many people have cherished her words, her larger-then-she-ever-knew influence and her awareness that The WELL never has to be only dry
ones and zeros, or remedial high school for grownup geeks if we remind ourselves of the real people at all those keyboards.

I'm so sad. Losing such a real person, who cared about the experience of others, from her keyboard. From our lives.

She'll be entangled in the social coding and DNA of this place as long as real people log in here. But that's not the same. Not the same at all.

A moment for Tina. For passing along her wisdom. And for all those she touched online, in her private life and as a dedicated school teacher. Why is it that responses to loss of the most memorable people in our communities is sometimes what it takes to know how real a community is?

4 Comments

  1. Tina and I worked together at Beverly Hills Elementary for about ten
    years. Tina was a “teacher’s teacher”. She dug into the souls of her
    students and demanded that they think, ask questions, and formulate thier own opinions. From my window I could see into her classroom.
    She would often be up on one of her ledges listening, cajoling, proding, students to “dig deeper”. I so wanted to abandon my duties and join in. I was fortunate to see a master teacher do her thing.

    I was also fortunate to be her friend. She shared so much of herself
    with me. I watched her blossom in her relationship with a very smart
    man: Eric. I met her daughters and many of her friends.
    I cannot tell you how much I miss my friend. There are simply not
    enough words.

  2. Ohhhhhh… I am SO sorry to hear this. Tina was indeed an amazing person, one who I remember clearly from my time at the well although I’d not encountered her in years. I remember when she met Eric and how happy they both were.

    My favorite quote of hers: “Boredom is a character defect.”

    Ah, we’re all worse off without her.

    Thanks for blogging this, Gail. I’d have never known otherwise (and indeed, I just found you here.)

    xox,

    – M

  3. I was anstudent of Ms. Loney’s from 93-95. She was truly an excellent teacher and will be missed. I remember when she used to talk about the Internet and the Web, she had so much passion for it that she pushed for a phone line to be installed so that we could use our Mac to connect to the Well and the Internet. It was partly because of her enthusiasm for the Internet and online communities that I joined an ISP myself. Her legacy will definitely live on in the hundreds of students she has taught.

  4. Ms. Loney was my teacher at Beverly Hills and it is only now on hearing these comments that I finally realize where I got the fierce desire to stand up for truth no matter the odds against one. She at first terrified me, but her intellect, her passion for justice, and her undying love for truth left me awed and admiring. She was stern, yet she was kind, she was fierce, yet gentle, she was disparaging, yet encouraging. She was what she needed to be to bring the best out in her students. I have not seen her since my sixth grade graduation in 1992, yet the memories linger on, and come flooding back, and I am grateful that my path crossed hers.

Leave a Reply

