Connectable Dots


This man who said he was a cop roughed up well-regarded photographer and blogger Thomas Hawk today.

Posted in Political? by Gail Ann Williams on June 6, 2006


"I Was Assaulted By This Man Who Identified Himself as a Police Officer and Refused to Provide Me Identification, Photography is Not a Crime" Originally uploaded by Thomas Hawk.

From his disturbing words:

…an individual came over who identified himself as a police officer and told us to get out of the plaza, off the sidewalk and to physically stand on the asphalt in the street where the cars were driving by. When I tried to object this individual (who was significantly larger than me) assaulted me and forcibly grabbed my arm quite hard and pulled me towards the street. When I freed myself from his grip I told him that I was going to take his photograph. He told me that I could not take his photograph and that if I did that I could "watch what would happen to my camera."

I took his photograph anyways and that is him up there at the top of the story. Once he had us physically on the asphalt in the traffic off the sidewalk I once again asked him for his identification and asked to see his badge. He refused to provide me his identification and refused to show me his badge.

Can you help Thomas identify this man?
And what are the rights of photographers? Here's basic information on your freedom. Cops and security guards may not know this, of course. The fellow in the picture needs some education.

One Response to 'This man who said he was a cop roughed up well-regarded photographer and blogger Thomas Hawk today.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'This man who said he was a cop roughed up well-regarded photographer and blogger Thomas Hawk today.'.


  1. There’s now an apology letter from Bechtel senior counsel on Thomas’s blog site at http://thomashawk.com/2006/06/photographing-architecture-is-still.html
    Partial vindication!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

